Welcome
Login  Sign up

Split into Rooms - How do they work (Presenter)


▪ Presenter: How to send the participants to the Split into Rooms?

  1. Go to   “Menu” (top left)   >   “Split into Rooms”

  2. Select type of split; there are 3 types:

    • Random            only available when there are participants in the room

    • Custom             available anytime. Can be used to save the groups before a session

    • Poll based         only available when there is a poll active (at “show results” stage)

  3. Select the number of participants per group

  4. Select the time the split will last

  5. Only for Custom split - Make the groups, picking out the participants in each one

    • A list with all the participants will appear, so they can be distributed into the groups

    • Connected and not-connected participants will show in a different colour circle

    • In a session with translation, a label with the language will appear beside each participant

    • Every participant needs to be assigned a group (even not-connected ones)

  6. The Split into Rooms List appears, with all the groups and participants within; there are 2 options:

    • “save & close” (to use that configuration later)

    • “split now” (to use it now)

  7. After splitting, the message “Dividing into groups” appears in the tablet for a few seconds

    • This action sends the participants present in the room to their Split Rooms

    • But they won’t actually enter them until they click on the screen!

  8. Then the Split Rooms List appears again with:

    • A timer on the top right corner, showing the time left in the Split Rooms

    • A “Go to room” link beside every Split  Room name

  9. If clicking on “Go to room”:

    • Another tab opens with a “loading” message

    • Then “Turn camera on” and you will be in the Split Room as any other participant

      • Once you turn the camera on, the classical TurnOn/Off microphone button appears

      • Beware that you enter the Split Room unmuted by default.

    • To exit the Split Room, just close its tab

    • Repeat with any other Split Room

  10. When time is over, the message “Split has ended” will appear on the Split into Rooms menu.

    • Any Split Room open in other tabs should be closed


NOTE: during the Split into Rooms, it is not recommended to touch the Surface (launching browser) for nothing else but entering the Split Rooms

  • Any other action (creating polls, uploading material to the room, etc) is not recommended, 

  • If during the Split into Rooms time, the interface is somehow altered (browser accidentally closed or refreshed, reconnection on the tablet due to  bad connectivity, etc), people will be left in the Split Rooms, not coming back to the Main Room when time is over

    • The presenter will have to enter every Split Room to tell participants how to come back (see below)

    • There is a feature improvement planned to avoid the dependency on the room_admin sitemap


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.